MEMBERS
Season Finale Preview Descriptions

There are only four episodes remaining of Supergirl this season and each one has a special aspect to it! Before we dive into the last two episodes, let us first remind everyone that Space Dad himself, David Harewood, directed next week's episode 419 "American Dreamer". In addition, episode 420 features the first writing credit for previous-journalist, Natalie Abrams who covered the Arrowverse for Entertainement Weekly. Her episode is titled "Will The Real Miss Tessmacher Please Stand Up". Today, TVLine.com featured some previews for the upcoming season finales across network television and Supergirl was among them! The pre-finale description states:

Lex remains in control of everything as we hurtle toward Supergirl’s fourth season ender, but how long can he count on Red Daughter to do his bidding? “She’s surprisingly intrigued by [Kara], which puts her in a difficult position,” co-showrunner Robert Rovner says. “She doesn’t realize how she’s been indoctrinated.” The same could be asked of Agent Liberty, who’s also “unaware of the extent to which his strings are being pulled.” Elsewhere, Alex and Kelly’s “friendship will continue to grow,” Brainy will seize an unexpected “moment of heroism,” James will struggle to locate “the root of his trauma,” Nia and Brainy’s slow-burning courtship will become a “journey that continues through the end of the season” and J’onn’s mission to Mars will allow him to “come back fully in control as the kind of hero he left the DEO to be

As for the finale, this was what they added:

The episode — titled “The Quest for Peace,” as a nod to Jon Cryer’s appearance in Superman IV — promises to “answer all the questions of the season and brings everything that has happened to a satisfying end.” Co-showrunner Jessica Queller says fans should also be “very excited to see the whole Luthor family together.

Make sure you head to TVLine.com to see an exclusive photo of Linda Lee! Let us know your thoughts in the comments below and in the forum! Keep us advertisment free and visit the support page!

Eric Johnston
Author: Eric JohnstonWebsite: https://supergirl.tvEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Executive Editor/Owner
About the Author
Eric is the primary author for Supergirl.tv. He has been covering the Supergirl show since 2014, but been a fan for decades. "Hope, Help, and Compassion for All, El May Arah!"

Comments   

+2 #14 RE: Season Finale Preview Descriptionsevrafter 2019-04-24 06:47
First and foremost....can these last few episodes be the LAST we see of Director Danvers' current hairdo?????? UGH Painful

Agreed, Brier. So very ready to say goodbye to AoL. Actually, I'm to the point that I won't even be saying goodbye. More like "Good riddance, buddy. Don't let the door hit you on the way out. Oh and take Haley with you." Haley, for me, was just a female version of early Hank/Jonn--didn't know if Hank/Jonn was good or bad. In the end, Haley is coming around just like Jonn did. Of course, Hank turned out to be Jonn Jones, and he always had Kara/Alex's back. But, we didn't know that. So, for me, Haley basically has just followed that same plot point.

The mind wipe has served it purpose. Time to go, though. Loved that we were made aware just HOW good Chyler and Mel's chemistry and master acting are--being reminded of their onscreen sister bond in the flashback loft scene between Alex and Red Daughter playing Kara, then back to Alex not knowing who Kara is...both in the same episode. But, again, "Good riddance, mind wipe. Don't let the door hit you on the way out."

And I agree with you, Kiwi--I am really really curious how post Crisis is going to look for the show. I'm sure there will be big things that are affected, as well as, small. A small one might be, if there's a big bad that Supergirl is struggling with, are the writers always going to be forced to explain why Barry hasn't come to Kara's aid like they have had to do with Superman. lol
+1 #13 RE: Season Finale Preview DescriptionsKiwi 2019-04-24 04:38
Quoting Brierrose:
As to weather RD should continue next season I’m torn. On the one hand I love Melissa playing different roles but another part of me wants to start season five with a new storyline. I want AoL to finish and I’m more than ready to say goodbye to CoL. Haley.


I actually only really want Red Daughter for 1 or maybe 2 episodes next season, I'm still of the idea that she should survive this season and return to live in Kaznia and there's just 1 story about her sometime in Season 5.

But I agree on a fresh start for Season 5 so that means for me no Lex Luthor, President Baker, Col. Haley and definitely no Ben Lockwood and Children of Liberty. Season 5 does have that big shadow being cast over it called Crisis on Infinite Earths, I have so many questions around that like will the Crisis event dominate the Season 5A story-line? and will the show be totally different post Crisis?.

As for the remaining episodes of Season 4, I'm looking forward to Episodes 21 and 22 quite a lot more than 19 and 20. 21 will have my Supergirl Helen as Eliza Danvers and that has me quite excited to see her again. 22 I'm really looking forward to more Melissa awesomeness as Kara/Supergirl/Red Daughter and hopefully it will have some cool Supergirl action (like the treat that was Episode 18).
+3 #12 RE: Season Finale Preview DescriptionsBrierrose 2019-04-23 20:42
Quoting Kiwi:
Quoting evrafter:
We are running out of time to really get some good extended Red Daughter/Supergirl scenes. Hope they don't rush it. Being it IS beginning to run low on time, I can actually see them extending Red Daughter into Season 5. I'd be totally down with that!
I still don't think we'll see Red Daughter again till Episode 22 based on the physical and mental requirements of Melissa playing 2 different characters (or versions of Kara). I do hope though that Supergirl/Red Daughter is the main focus of the Finale and yeah I agree that the story needs more time and should continue into Season 5
We may see RD before the finale but I don’t think we’ll see Kara/RD scenes before then. It’s a logistical challenge to have an actor play off themselves, even more so with the lead. The closest analogy we have would be Flash season 3. Savatar’s identity wasn’t even revealed until episode 20 before then he was a guy in a suit that didn’t require Grant to play the part. I don’t actually recall too many scenes where Grant acted against himself and he didn’t have to do a Russian accent. Realistically I’d be extremely happy with the same amount of time that Melissa acted against herself as Overgirl. We’ll get plenty of Melissa as Kara/Supergirl/RD just not playing more than one at the same time. As to weather RD should continue next season I’m torn. On the one hand I love Melissa playing different roles but another part of me wants to start season five with a new storyline. I want AoL to finish and I’m more than ready to say goodbye to CoL. Haley.
+1 #11 RE: Season Finale Preview Descriptionsmuckle9999 2019-04-23 09:04
Quoting jacksc01:
Looking forward to the season finale episodes especially if it will tie everything up for three reasons:

1. I certainly don't want to see the show concentrating on the Children of Liberty for season five.
2. I am also anxious for an end to the mind wipe.
3. I don't want to go into a new season with SuperGirl being Public enemy number one.

New season fresh start - I hope they are true to their word.


Amen to that! We are in mid stretch at this point of the season. Hopefully the show will have a strong closing kick to the wire and leave us all very optimistic for next season. I'm hoping that the Rooski Melissa returns next season as well as Winn.
+5 #10 RE: Season Finale Preview DescriptionsKiwi 2019-04-23 03:31
Quoting RedDog:
421-They aren’t talking about this one. Why??


We should get the episode title and synopsis later this week. I think Episode 21 will be about Alex recovering her memories. There's a strong suggestion Eliza will be in the episode along with flashbacks to young Alex and Kara (based on the actresses being in Vancouver about the time Episode 21 was filmed). They definitely can't hold Alex memory recovery off to the Finale Episode (22) as there's seems to be a lot going on already. Focus on the story in Episode 21 would do it more justice IMHO.

Quoting evrafter:
We are running out of time to really get some good extended Red Daughter/Supergirl scenes. Hope they don't rush it. Being it IS beginning to run low on time, I can actually see them extending Red Daughter into Season 5. I'd be totally down with that!


I still don't think we'll see Red Daughter again till Episode 22 based on the physical and mental requirements of Melissa playing 2 different characters (or versions of Kara). I do hope though that Supergirl/Red Daughter is the main focus of the Finale and yeah I agree that the story needs more time and should continue into Season 5.


I am a little disappointed in the Showrunners not mentioning Supergirl in their comments and only mentioning Kara as a part of Red Daughter's story. I mean there's mention of story for Lex, Agent Liberty, Alex and Kelly, Brainy, James, Nia, J'onn and the Luthors but nothing about Kara or Supergirl, surely they could've come up with something to say about her, it is her show and she should be the 1st character mentioned.
+6 #9 RE: Season Finale Preview Descriptionsevrafter 2019-04-22 20:38
We are running out of time to really get some good extended Red Daughter/Supergirl scenes. Hope they don't rush it. Being it IS beginning to run low on time, I can actually see them extending Red Daughter into Season 5. I'd be totally down with that!
#8 RE: Season Finale Preview DescriptionsLibertyPrime 2019-04-22 20:31
Quoting RobertAnthony:
If anything this episode WILL be better than the film many Superman movie fans will say never existed...for starters, it was co-produced by cheese-meisters Golan-Globus for Cannon and WB. Saw it a couple of times...lame villain, lame special effects...and a total mess. It's not even in my DVD collection, neither is Superman III.
The commentary on the Superman IV DVD is heartbreaking to listen to. They had such grand designs, but they never stood a chance at executing them. :sad:
+1 #7 The Quest for PeaceRobertAnthony 2019-04-22 18:18
If anything this episode WILL be better than the film many Superman movie fans will say never existed...for starters, it was co-produced by cheese-meisters Golan-Globus for Cannon and WB. Saw it a couple of times...lame villain, lame special effects...and a total mess. It's not even in my DVD collection, neither is Superman III.

Quoting jacksc01:
Looking forward to the season finale episodes especially if it will tie everything up for three reasons:

1. I certainly don't want to see the show concentrating on the Children of Liberty for season five.
2. I am also anxious for an end to the mind wipe.
3. I don't want to go into a new season with SuperGirl being Public enemy number one.

New season fresh start - I hope they are true to their word.


Jacksc to your points...

1. If you hear anything at the cons or online saying the show will continue to go topical, the CoL will return and in spades.

2. I want Alex and Kara as the sisters they are meant to be.

3. The people of National City need Supergirl...and Supergirl and perhaps her team MUST DESTROY LEX LUTHOR.

And yet to that third point, I actually WANT Lex to still be on the show. Jon Cryer gave this show the shot in the arm it needed in a season that has hit us over the head with its politics, which covered up very wonky writing, even enhancing it.
#6 RE: Season Finale Preview DescriptionsLibertyPrime 2019-04-22 18:09
Quoting Fedguy:
"brings everything that has happened to a satisfying end"
That's a titan of a task there buddies. Fingers crossed they pull it off

For me, the payoff of the last part of the season has some ways to go to make the end "satisfying." But things are at least moving in the right direction.
+5 #5 RE: Season Finale Preview Descriptionsjacksc01 2019-04-22 18:00
Looking forward to the season finale episodes especially if it will tie everything up for three reasons:

1. I certainly don't want to see the show concentrating on the Children of Liberty for season five.
2. I am also anxious for an end to the mind wipe.
3. I don't want to go into a new season with SuperGirl being Public enemy number one.

New season fresh start - I hope they are true to their word.


Register as a user to comment on this article. Register